Evening Standard Theatre Awards winners announced

The winners were revealed at a star-studded London ceremony.

Theatre Guide

The winners for this year’s coveted Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been revealed, including recognition for West End musical hits Hamilton and Company.

First celebrating the world of theatre in 1955, the Evening Standard Awards celebrate both talent on the stage and behind the scenes. This year’s ceremony took place on Sunday 18 November 2018, awarding nine honours including Best Play and Best Musical.

The reimagining of Sondheim’s Company took home the Best Director award for Marianne Elliot’s take on finding love in your mid-30s. Rosalie Craig also won the Best Musical Performance award for her lead role as Bobbi.

Sir Cameron Mackintosh, renowned West End producer and theatre owner, claimed the Lebedev Award for his contribution to musical theatre. Most recently he has brought Hamilton to the West End, winner of the Best Musical and Emerging Talent Award.

See the full list of winners below.

Here is the shortlist in full:

Best Actor
WINNER: Ralph Fiennes, Antony and Cleopatra (National Theatre, Olivier)
Bryan Cranston, Network (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
Ian McKellen, King Lear (Minerva Chichester & Duke of York’s Theatre)
Colin Morgan, Translations (National Theatre, Olivier)
Kyle Soller, The Inheritance (Young Vic & Noël Coward Theatre)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
WINNER: Sophie Okonedo, Antony and Cleopatra (National Theatre, Olivier)
Laura Linney, My Name Is Lucy Barton (Bridge Theatre)
Carey Mulligan, Girls and Boys (Royal Court)
Cecilia Noble, Nine Night (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Lia Williams, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Play
WINNER: The Inheritance by Matthew Lopez (Young Vic & Noël Coward Theatre)
Home, I’m Darling by Laura Wade (National Theatre, Dorfman)
John by Annie Baker (National Theatre, Dorfman)
The Lehman Trilogy by Stefano Massini, adapted by Ben Power (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
The Writer by Ella Hickson (Almeida Theatre)

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director
WINNER: Marianne Elliott, Company (Gielgud Theatre )
Stephen Daldry, The Inheritance (Young Vic & Noël Coward Theatre)
Robert Hastie, The York Realist (Donmar Warehouse)
Phyllida Lloyd, Tina the Musical (Aldwych Theatre)
Ian Rickson, Translations (National Theatre, Olivier)

Best Musical
WINNER: Hamilton (Victoria Palace Theatre)
Caroline, or Change (Minerva Chichester & Hampstead Theatre)
Company (Gielgud Theatre)
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie (Apollo Theatre)
Fun Home (Young Vic)

Best Musical Performance
WINNER: Rosalie Craig, Company (Gielgud Theatre)
Sharon D Clarke, Caroline, or Change (Minerva Chichester & Hampstead Theatre)
Arinzé Kene, Misty (Bush & Trafalgar Studios)
Kelli O’Hara, The King and I (London Palladium)
Adrienne Warren, Tina the Musical (Aldwych Theatre)

Best Design
WINNER: Miriam Buether, The Jungle (Young Vic & Playhouse Theatre)
Bunny Christie, Company (Gielgud Theatre)
Es Devlin, Girls and Boys (Royal Court)
Rae Smith, Translations (National Theatre, Olivier)
Jan Versweyveld, Network (National Theatre, Lyttelton)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
WINNER: Natasha Gordon, Nine Night (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Tearrance Arvelle Chisholm, Br’er Cotton (Theatre503)
Francis Turnly, The Great Wave (National Theatre, Dorfman)

Emerging Talent Award
WINNER: Jamael Westman, Hamilton (Victoria Palace Theatre)
Rona Morison, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie (Donmar Warehouse)
Debris Stevenson, Poet in da Corner (Royal Court)
Chris Walley, The Lieutenant of Inishmore (Noël Coward Theatre)
Roy Alexander Weise (director), Nine Night (National Theatre, Dorfman), Br’er Cotton (Theatre503)

Lebedev Awards
Sir Cameron Mackintosh, for his contribution to musical theatre

For more from the world of theatre and the West End, head to