Billie Piper and Ralph Fiennes take home top Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2016

Celebrating the best on-stage productions, the Evening Standard Theatre Awards announce their 2016 winners.

Billie Piper and Ralph Fiennes have taken home the top awards at the 62nd annual Evening Standard Theatre Awards. Piper was recognised for her role in Yerma at the Young Vic, with Fiennes celebrating roles in both The Master Builder at the Old Vic and Richard III at the Almeida Theatre.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child took home the award for the best play at the event hosted by Sir Elton John and Evgeny Lebedev and presented by comedian Rob Brydon.

The evening saw 13 awards being presented, including Best Revival No Man’s Land (pictured above), directed by Sean Mathias.

Musical theatre was once again also recognised, with Glenn Close being honoured for her performance in Sunset Boulevard, and Jesus Christ Superstar taking away the Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best Musical.

The full list of winners looks like this:

Best Actor
Ralph Fiennes, The Master Builder (Old Vic) & Richard III (Almeida)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Billie Piper, Yerma (Young Vic)

Best Play with Hiscox, Official Arts Partner
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, co-written by Jack Thorne, JK Rowling & John Tiffany (Palace)

Best Musical Performance
Glenn Close, Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)

Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best Musical
Jesus Christ Superstar, Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director
John Malkovich, Good Canary (Rose Kingston)

Best Revival
No Man’s Land, Wyndham’s (dir Sean Mathias)

Best Design
Gareth Fry with Pete Malkin (sound design), The Encounter (Complicite/Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Charlene James, Cuttin’ It (Young Vic/Royal Court)

Emerging Talent Award in Partnership with Burberry
Tyrone Huntley, Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)

Beyond Theatre Award
Sir David Attenborough for his contribution to broadcasting

Editor’s Award
Good Chance Theatre

Lebedev Award
Sir Kenneth Branagh for his Plays at the Garrick

What’s going to being making waves next year? Check out our West End Theatre Guide to keep track of what’s hot on stage.