Radiohead, Beastie Boys and Bruce Springsteen join the MCU as the new Guardians Of The Galaxy soundtrack is revealed

The third volume of the blockbuster mixtape arrives a month before the Marvel sequel hits cinemas

Marvel is responsible for a lot. But while the super-budget superhero franchise was busy propping up the cinema industry across 40 films and counting, it also helped resurrected the jukebox movie soundtrack album. Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 debuted in 2014 and went platinum in six months, selling over 2.5 million copies worldwide to become one of the best-selling soundtracks of all time. 

Featuring tracks from the likes of Blue Swede, Norman Greenbaum, Raspberries and 10cc, the film’s soundtrack helped put classic rock back into pop culture for a whole new generation raised on talking racoons and dancing trees. Vol.2 arrived in 2017 (ELO, Fleetwood Mac, George Harrison, Cheap Trick…) and now Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3: Awesome Mix Vol. 3 is here. 

Announcing the news on Twitter, director James Gunn posted a live link to the album exactly a month before the film opens, on May 5. With such a lot riding on the song choices, (“I felt very uncomfortable picking,” Gunn told Rolling Stone), expectations were high. Surely no one expected The The, X and Radiohead though… 

Opening with an acoustic version of ‘Creep’ (off the 1992 EP), the album skips to Heart (not ‘Barracuda’…), and 90s alt-rock classic ‘In The Meantime’, a song that’s sure to get a million kids into Spacehog. Elsewhere there’s track’s by The Flaming Lips, Faith No More, Alice Cooper, The Mowgli’s, X, The The, Beastie Boys, Florence + The Machine and Bruce Springsteen. Even if you’re not a Marvel fan, ‘Badlands’ is gonna sound pretty amazing blasting out of an IMAX speaker system this summer…

See the full Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3: Awesome Mix Vol. 3 track list below.

‘Creep” (Acoustic Version) – Radiohead
‘Crazy On You’ – Heart 
‘Since You Been Gone’ – Rainbow
‘In the Meantime’ – Spacehog
‘Reasons’ – Earth, Wind and Fire
‘Do You Realize??’ – Flaming Lips
‘We Care a Lot’ – Faith No More
‘Koinu no Carnival’ (From ‘Minute Waltz’) – EHAMIC
‘I’m Always Chasing Rainbows’ – Alice Cooper
‘San Francisco’ – The Mowgli’s
‘Poor Girl’ – X
‘This Is the Day’ – The The
‘No Sleep Till Brooklyn’ – Beastie Boys
‘Dog Days Are Over’ – Florence + The Machine
‘Badlands’ – Bruce Springsteen
‘I Will Dare’ – The Replacements
‘Come and Get Your Love’ – Redbone