Five reasons not to miss the ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Yesterday marked the official launch of the ticket ballot for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. This means the world’s best One Day International cricketers are heading to England and Wales!

The tournament will run from 1 – 18 June 2017 and feature the top eight ODI teams in the global rankings (Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka). They’ll be split into two groups of four, with the top two in each group progressing to the semi-finals. Consisting of 15 matches, the teams will go head-to-head in a quick-fire, short and sharp, nation-versus-nation format.

Although the ICC Champions Trophy is still nine months away, you can get a taste of the action right here:

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Promo

And here are five more reasons you absolutely can’t miss seeing this tournament live.

1) The matches will be played in three iconic world-class sporting venues: The Oval in London, Edgbaston in Birmingham and Cardiff Wales Stadium.

2) When the tournament was last staged in the UK in 2013 it was a huge success. England made the final but India claimed the ICC Champions Trophy title with a narrow five-run margin of victory.

3) England captain Eoin Morgan looks forward to heavy fan turnout in 2017. “With the top eight sides competing, every match counts, whether our opening group match against Bangladesh at The Oval, against Australia at Edgbaston or New Zealand in Cardiff, we will be aiming to win them all,” he said in a media release for ICC.

4) The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is sure to feature plenty of great storylines. For example, Australia and New Zealand will begin the tournament with a repeat of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 final and the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 final when they meet on 2 June. And current champions India will launch their title defence against arch rival Pakistan at Edgbaston on 4 June.

5) The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will be the start of two exciting years for cricket in England and Wales which also includes the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 and ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

So if you’re a cricket fan, don’t let this exciting opportunity pass you by. The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 ticket ballot will be open until 30 September.