Sport / Feature

More ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 tickets released

And watch Minimaster Gracie chat with England cricketer David Willey.

Limited tickets for the ICC Cricket World Cup will be available from 10:00 on Thursday 21 March 2019.

“With the World Cup just around the corner, we are delighted to be able to put remaining and returned tickets on sale, giving fans the opportunity to secure a seat at the tournament, especially those who missed out first time around,” says Managing Director Steve Elworthy. “Tickets for all venues and teams are available and we would urge fans to be quick for the most sought after matches.”

The new tickets will be available on a first-come, first-served basis across all venues and teams.

Existing ticket holders will also be able to view their seat details from 10:00 on Thursday 21 March 2019 through the official ticketing website.

The resale platform will also open soon for fans who wish to sell their tickets.

The format for the 2019 competition – the same used in Australia and New Zealand in 1992 – sees the ten best teams in the world go head to head in a round-robin format, resulting in a true world champion.

Building on the overwhelming success of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 and 2017 as well as last year’s ICC Women’s World Cup, it is anticipated that every one of the 48 matches will attract diverse crowds creating a unique atmosphere where every team has home support.

Above, England cricketer David Willey speaks to Minimaster Gracie about his journey into the sport, and dealing with the challenges of the sport.

How does the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 work?

The ICC Cricket World Cup Cup will be hosted in England and Wales, and features ten teams in a round robin group stage, followed by the semi-finals and final. The action will take place across eleven venues.

These are:
Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
Bristol County Ground, Bristol
County Ground Taunton, Taunton
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
Headingley, Leeds
Lord’s, London
Old Trafford, Manchester
The Oval, London
The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street
Trent Bridge, Nottingham

England will open the tournament at The Oval, taking on South Africa on the 30 May 2019.

Reigning champions Australia kick off their bid for the title on the 1 June against Afghanistan in Bristol.

The semi-finals will take place at Old Trafford in Manchester on 9 July, and at Edgbaston in Birmingham on the 11 July.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 final will take place at Lord’s on Sunday 14 July 2019.

Each of these three matches will have reserve days.

What is the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 schedule?

The 48 matches will run from Thursday 30 May to Sunday 14 July 2019. Note that, as ever, all dates are subject to change.

The full schedule, as well as pricing for each match, is available below:

Additional tickets for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be available from 10:00 on Thursday 21 March 2019. Find them here.