Six songs to get you pumped for Slum Village at Jazz Café

The Jazz Café reopened its doors to the public this May with a new look and fresh host of events from some of the UK’s up and coming DJ’s, labels and live acts, as well as internationally-famed artists, all with jazz as the underlying influence in their music.

This week sees one such act Slum Village grace the stage with two back-to-back shows, with support from OthaSoul and Children of Zeus!

Hip hop superstars Slum Village, hailing from Detroit, formed in the early ’90s with rappers Baatin, T3 and legendary producer/rapper J Dilla, and released their highly acclaimed and now classic album, Fantastic Vol. 2; featuring staples that have more than earned a place in every hip hop lovers’ music collection like, Get Dis Money, Climax and Fall In Love.

J Dilla left the group in 2001 to pursue a solo career, but continued to produce for the group alongside newcomer, Young RJ. Slum Village continued to push out the hits including their first commercial single, Tainted and Selfish. Fast forward to now and these hip hop heavyweights are still killing it touring internationally with original member T3 holding down the legacy alongside Young RJ.

To get you psyched for this hip hop revival at Jazz Café, here are six of our favourite Slum Village songs:

1. Get Dis Money

Slum Village - Get Dis Money

2. Climax 

slum village - climax

3. Call Me

Slum Village feat Dwele - Call Me

4. Multiply

Slum Village - Multiply

5. Once Upon A Time

6. Fall In Love

Slum Village- Fall In Love

Get your tickets to see Slum Village at Jazz Café on Friday 26 August or Saturday 27 August right here.