Official nominations for Unsigned Music Awards

The event will take place at The Great Escape in Brighton.

Find tickets here

Following last night’s launch party in London’s Soho, the UMAs 2018 have released the official shortlisted nominations.

A voting panel of 100 industry insiders, including professionals and influencers from across the UK’s music industry, have cast their votes. A list of 10,000 applicants has now been whittled down to 16 categories with five acts in each.

The categories include Best Female, Best Records, and Best Songwriter.

The list, which represents all corners of the unsigned music world, includes nods to the likes of R&B rising star Jorja Smith, politically charged punks IDLES, atypical homegrown rapper Dave, Femme, Tom Misch and more.

The winners will be revealed at the UMAs 2018 at the Brighton Centre on the 16 May 2018, an event which opens this year’s The Great Escape Festival. Find tickets for the festival, as well as associated events here.

Here are the nominations in full:

Best Urban Act
Raheem Bakare
Kojey Radical
Josh Barry


Best Rock Act
Sponsored by Strange Place
The People The Poet
The Harlers
Saint Agnes
The Bay Rays
These Wicked Rivers

Best Country / Folk Act
Sponsored by Ticketmaster & Universe
Adam Beattie
Katy Hurt
Laura Oaks
Danni Nicholls
Ferris & Sylvester


Best Jazz / Blues Act
Ezra Collective
Oscar Jerome
Ruby Rushton
Poppy Ajudha

Best Songwriter
Harry Pane
Jorja Smith
Albert Gold
Violet Skies

Jorja Smith - Let Me Down ft. Stormzy


Best Produced Record
Ginger Snaps – Number Crunching
Jalen N’Gonda – Why I Try
Strong Asian Mothers – Animal
Cattle & Cane – Mirrors
Le Flex – The Dancefloor Suite</em?

Best Music Video
Sponsored by Fastrax
Dave – Question Time
Poppy Ajudha ft Kojey Radical – Spilling Into You
Femme – Fire With Fire
Foreign Beggars – Bosh
Eyre Llew – Atelo

Femme - Fire With Fire


Best International Music Video
Sponsored by YouTube
Jarami – Hear This
Gus Dapperton – Prune, You Talk Funny
Charlotte Day Wilson – Work
Fletcher – You Should Talk
Beissoul & Einius – Lion

Best Female Solo Act
Sponsored by Nasty Gal
Jorja Smith
Violet Skies
Joy Crookes
Maisie Peters
Suzi Wu

Power - Joy Crookes


Best Male Solo Act
Kojey Radical
Rex Orange County
Bruno Major
Benny Mails

Best International Record
Sponsored by Shazam
Stella Donnelly – Thrush Metal
Siv Jakobsen – The Nordic Mellow
Steve Lacy – Steve Lacy’s Demo
Vérité – Somewhere In Between
Gus Dapperton – Yellow and Such

Gus Dapperton - Prune, You Talk Funny


Best Record
Sponsored by BIMM
Bruno Major – Song For Every Moon
Tom Misch – 5 Day Mischon
IDLES – Brutalism
Toddla T – Foreign Light
Jorja Smith – Project 11
Elder Island – Seeds In Sand

Best Electronic Act
Sponsored by Mood Media
Wide Awake
Elder Island
Catching Flies

Elder Island - Bonfires


Best Live Act
Sponsored by Live Nation
Stereo Honey
Bang Bang Romeo
Sam Fender
Strange Bones

UMA Choice Award
Sponsored by UMA Music
Too Many T’s
The Kings Parade
Rina Sawayama
Bang Bang Romeo

Too Many T's - Neighbours

The UMAs take place on 16 May 2018 to launch The Great Escape Festival. Tickets for the ceremony are available now through