New Music Friday: Ryan Adams, Future, Dutch Uncles and more

It’s our favourite time of the week – New Music Friday is the new release fix you need to get your weekend started. This week we’ll be listening to Ryan Adams, Future, Dutch Uncles and more.

What’s even better about New Music Friday is that you can also listen to a lot of the new music live. We’ve also found a few artists who’ve got new records out and are about to take them on tour. Double win!

Ryan Adams – Prisoner

Some artists don’t even write 16 albums across their whole career, Ryan Adams is nowhere near finished and has just released his 16th studio album in 17 years! Having covered Taylor Swift’s legendary 1989 album track by track in 2015, the singer songwriter is now back with more of his own stuff. It is full of emotionally charged tracks influenced by his divorce last year from Hollywood actress Mandy Moore. The feelings just come pouring out and shape themselves into electrifying songs. He’s also just announced a UK headline tour; full details here. Grab the album here.

Dutch Uncles – Big Balloon

It’s album number five for Manchester-based pop band Dutch Uncles. Big Balloon is full of atypical energy. Apparently the band had live shows in mind when writing the songs, and that just gives us one more reason to see them live at the Village Underground in London on 13 March 2017. Last remaining tickets are available via Grab the album here.

VantVANT – Dumb Blood

Already known for their social and political commentary, VANT have compiled a both urgent and poignant collection of songs for their alternative-indie debut Dumb Blood. The record arrives as the band gear up for a UK tour in early March, with tickets available now through

Future – Future

Future’s newest project is here: self-titled album Future. About the album he’s said: “I just feel like I want to go back to being more underground. Just reconnecting with the fans, just more hands-on, being back with my fans.” The rapper has just announced a massive US tour featuring Tory Lanez, Migos  and more. Here’s hoping he’ll take over our stages again soon.

BRIT Awards compilation 2017

To celebrate The BRIT Awards 2017 with Mastercard, they’ve releases a triple CD compilation album featuring the most important tracks of the last year. Like the awards themselves, The BRIT Awards 2017 album reflects all that is popular and credible in music right now. The hit packed collection celebrates the biggest tracks of the year from the best talent in music, including The Weeknd, Ellie Goulding, Zara Larsson, Little Mix, Sia, James Arthur, Clean Bandit, and Christine and the Queens along with 2017 Critics’ Choice winner Rag’n’Bone Man and many more. Grab the compilation here.

Nikki Lane – Highway Queen

Hailed as the outlaw-country princess, Nikki Lane has put the finishing touches on her latest record Highway Queen, which is out today. The album feels like an autobiography with references to the singers own experiences and aspirations. It’s full of country-infused pop-rock tunes and impressive pedal-steel mid-tempo numbers. Nikki is playing London’s Bush Hall on 6 June, and if you love country you shouldn’t miss this. Tickets on sale via Grab the album here.

Sam Patch – Yeah You, And I

Arcade Fire‘s Tim Kingsbury has shared his debut solo album as Sam Patch with us today and it’s quite something. With drum contributions from fellow Arcade Fire Member Jeremy Gara, Yeah You, And I takes its influences from legendary artists such as Leonard Cohen, Fleetwood Mac, ABBA and more. You can catch Arcade Fire playing various festivals this summer including Isle Of Wight Festival and Sounds Of The City.

Danny Worsnop – The Long Road Home

Former Asking Alexandria frontman Danny Worsnop has finally released his long-awaited debut album The Long Road Home which sees him transition into country music and rootsy rock. His new home in Nashville has heavily influenced the record, and his stunning raspy voice adds an extra spoonful of character. In a recent interview, Danny promised he’d be doing some extensive touring in 2017, we say: bring it on! Grab the album here.

Piano Wire – Dream Underground

Formerly of Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster, Sym Gharial and Andy Huxley are releasing their debut album today, and what a debut album it is! Tales from the dark-side wrapped in huge rock sounds draw influences from the big poets like Oscar Wilde and Chuck Bokowski. Songwriter Sym says: “I like Oscar Wilde a lot. The lyrics to the tracks are about f**cked up, twisted love and being a loner and going mad. The tragedy of old fashioned romance. Wanting what you can’t have. Feeling detested. And Fear. Strong experiences.”

Valerie June – With You (new track)

Multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter Valerie June will be heading out on a UK headline tour this spring. The string of shows will kick off in Brighton on 22 April and will wrap up in Manchester on 27 April. The Tennessee songstress is due to release her highly anticipated second album, The Order of Time in March, but for now she has shared her newest track With You.

Flume – Skin Companion II

As a follow up to last year’s Skin record, Flume has now released Skin Companion II. The record features four tracks taken from the recording sessions for Skins. About making the album, Harley Streten said: “I’m going to do an album like this one, and then just keep putting stuff out there, without the traditional breaks. I want to be able to make something in the day, and then play it that night. I like the immediacy of that kind of thing.” Flume is set to play this year’s Reading & Leeds Festival. Have you got your tickets?

Alison Krauss – Windy City

It’s her first solo album in 17 years and she’s covering country classics on this record. The inspiration behind the recording is veteran Nashville producer and songwriter Buddy Cannon who’s worked with artists such as Willie Nelson and George Strait. We love ourselves a bit of country, check out our country music guide for all the great shows coming up. Grab the album here.

Meat Wave – The Incessant

The third album by Chicago trio Meat Wave, The Incessant is brash, fast and gritty. Released through Big Scary Monsters and engineered by the legendary Steve Albini, it pushes the band’s sound forward at a rapid pace, not least one standout tracks Bad Man and the droning closer Killing The Incessant. Meat Wave will be touring the UK in April, with tickets for select dates available through our friends at TicketWeb. Grab the album here.

Check back every Friday for a list of album releases to get excited about.