Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2014 shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 2014 Barclaycard Mercury Prize has been announced.

Amongst this year’s nominees are Blur frontman Damon Albarn, R&B newcomer FKA Twigs, Worthing duo Royal Blood and jazz musician Seb Rochford’s band Polar Bear.

The shortlist was chosen from an entry of over 220 albums and was announced yesterday by Alice Levine at the Hospital Club in Covent Garden.

The 2014 shortlist is as follows:

Anna Calvi – One Breath
Bombay Bicycle Club – So Long, See You Tomorrow
Damon Albarn – Everyday Robots
East India Youth – Total Strife Forever
FKA twigs – LP1
GoGo Penguin – v2.0
Jungle – Jungle
Kate Tempest – Everybody Down
Nick Mulvey – First Mind
Polar Bear – In Each and Every One
Royal Blood – Royal Blood
Young Fathers – Dead

The winner of the 2014 prize will be announced at the Barclaycard Mercury Prize Awards Show at the Roundhouse on Wednesday 29 October 2014.