Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2013 shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s Barclaycard Mercury Prize has been announced. The shotilist of 12 albums – chosen from 220 – was picked by a panel of independant judges and announced yesterday (September 11) at London’s Hospital Club.

The Prize recognises and celebrates music in the UK, and has a reputation for highlighting both emerging and already established bands and artists from a diverse mix of genres.

Simon Frith, Chair of Judges, said of the announcement: “This year’s Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist celebrates a fascinating year for British and Irish music, marked by a wonderful range of musical voices – urgent, reflective, upbeat and tender, acoustic and electronic, and all with something intriguing to say.”

Foals and David Bowie have been made early favourites to win the prize, and the full list of nominated albums is:

Arctic Monkeys – ‘AM’
David Bowie – ‘The Next Day’
Disclosure – ‘Settle’
Foals – ‘Holy Fire’
James Blake – ‘Overgrown’
Jake Bugg – ‘Jake Bugg’
Jon Hopkins – ‘Immunity’
Laura Marling – ‘Once I Was An Eagle’
Laura Mvula – ‘Sing To The Moon’
Rudimental – ‘Home’
Savages – ‘Silence Yourself’
Villagers – ‘{Awayland}’