Watch Ash’s Tim Wheeler play Girl From Mars

The band tour across the UK in March 2020, celebrating the release of their greatest hits.

Find tickets here

British trio Ash are currently preparing for the release of their Teenage Wildlife: 25 Years Of Ash collection, celebrating the band’s career from the release of their 1994 debut single Jack Names the Planets to 2018’s Islands full-length.

Their career to date has seen them celebrate commercial and critical success, releasing iconic tracks such as Oh Yeah, A Life Less Ordinary, There’s A Star and Orpheus, spread across eight albums.

The band, comprising Tim Wheeler on vocals and guitar, Mark Hamilton on bass, and Rick McMurray on drums (formerly having also featured Charlotte Hatherley on rhythm guitar and piano), became a household name in 1996 with the release of their No.1 album 1977.

Certified platinum in the UK, the album includes huge hits Oh Yeah and Goldfinger, as well as their timeless Girl From Mars – a track that continues to be played and celebrated across the globe.

Girl From Mars, which Tim Wheeler plays acoustically above, reached No.11 on the official UK singles chart when released in July 1995 and gave the band their first Top Of The Pops appearance only a few weeks after completing their A-Level exams.

The track was even picked up by stateside space agency NASA, whose switchboard used it as hold music.

Speaking of the track to Louder back in 2016, Wheeler said: “I’ve never, ever had a moment – like, say, Radiohead with Creep – where I didn’t want to play Girl From Mars. People still love it, and I think they’d be disappointed if we didn’t play it. You just know people are gonna throw their beer in the air. I’ll start the song and you’ll see the pints go flying.”

Wheeler and co are now preparing to take the track, as well as their full catalogue of hits, on the road in celebration of Teenage Wildlife: 25 Years Of Ash, released on Friday 14 February 2020.

The live dates will see Ash take to eight venues across the UK, culminating with a London headline show on 27 March 2020 at The Roundhouse. See the full list of dates below:

17 March 2020 – Stylus, Leeds
18 March 2020 – O2 Academy, Newcastle
20 March 2020 – SWG3, Glasgow
21 March 2020 – O2 Ritz, Manchester
22 March 2020 – Rock City, Nottingham
24 March 2020 – O2 Academy, Bristol
25 March 2020 – Pyramids, Portsmouth
27 March 2020 – Roundhouse, London

Ash release Teenage Wildlife: 25 Years Of Ash on 14 February 2020. Tickets for Ash’s headline UK run are available now through