Album of the Week

Album of the Week: Lizzo

Delve inside Lizzo's third studio album and major label debut, Cuz I Love You.

Find tickets here

Cuz I Love You – the third studio album and major label debut by American rapper, singer-songwriter and flautist Lizzo – born Melissa Jefferson – is everything you’ve come to expect from the assertive mega-popstar and more.

A founding member of numerous indie hip-hop groups, Lizzo released her solo debut Lizzobangers in 2013. Following up with second record, Big Grrrl Small World, she went on to work with producer Ricky Reed (Meghan Trainor, Pitbull, Jessie J and more) and later signed to Atlantic records and released major-label EP Coconut Oil in 2016, before this year’s Cuz I Love You.

Featuring guest appearances from Gucci Mane (Exactly How I Feel) and Missy Elliott (Tempo), Lizzo’s latest album is confident and upbeat, balancing some of 2019’s biggest pop anthems with genre-defying blues and soul melodies straight out of the ’80s.

Known for her catchy tunes, themes of self-love and unapologetic “be yourself” mantras, the fearless pop icon has sharpened her sound, easily shifting between synth-laced ’80s disco pop and distorted moody blues across 11 huge tracks.

Lizzo - Juice (Official Video)

She channels Prince-inspired funk vibes in both Lingerie with its sultry melody and Cry Baby, which features slow jamming beats and soulful wailing.

She opens the record with soul-fused pop in Cuz I Love You, while Jerome is powerfully delivered as she names and shames her ex. Like a Girl name drops a host of inspiring celebrities, musicians and athletes.

Ultimate pop-banger and lead single Juice and Soulmate are empowering and upbeat. Heaven Help Me is led by jangling piano into a fast-paced rap chorus and intermittent choir.

The talented pop queen doesn’t shy away from an intense multi-tracked chorus’ and champions body positivity and self-love, no matter size, shape or shade with pride and conviction throughout.

Lizzo offers up a refreshing and dynamic leap into the big leagues, an array of summer smash hits you won’t forget any time soon.

Lizzo will embark on an international tour for Cuz I Love You in 2019 including dates in Manchester and London in May and perform at Lovebox in July. [Find Tickets]

1. Cuz I Love You
2. Like a Girl
3. Juice
4. Soulmate
5. Jerome
6. Crybaby
7. Tempo (featuring Missy Elliott)
8. Exactly How I Feel (featuring Gucci Mane)
9. Better in Color
10. Heaven Help Me
11. Lingerie

Listen to Cuz I Love You on Spotify: