Album of the Week

Album of the Week: Andy Black

Immerse yourself in Andy Black’s second solo album, The Ghost of Ohio.

Find tickets here

Stateside creative Andy Black has released his second solo effort – a melodic and imaginative journey into his past.

As the founder and lead vocalist for the American rock band Black Veil Brides, he’s honed his band’s craft over the last decade. With BVB developing an arena ready sound, his solo releases have opened the door for more eclectic experimentation.

Launching his solo music project under the moniker Andy Black in 2014, Andy Biersack released his debut album, 2016’s The Shadow Side, boasting a host of collaborations with members from Fall Out Boy, blink-182 and My Chemical Romance.

His highly anticipated follow-up – with super-producer John Feldman once again at the helm – deals with Black’s complex relationship with his hometown, and his attempts to lay to rest hang-ups from his childhood and adolescent years.

In tandem, the album comes with a graphic novel of the same name, loosely based on Andy himself. Following in the footsteps of MCR’s Gerard Way and his Umbrella Academy graphic novel, Black’s imaginative adventure and original story delves into loneliness and childhood paranoia, soundtracked by the record.

Andy Black - Westwood Road

He released lead single Westwood Road in February 2019. The poppy beats contrast with gloomy lyrics which attest to isolation and misery.

Feast or Famine, perhaps inspired by Black’s collaboration with Alkaline Trio’s Matt Skiba on Stay Alive from 2016’s debut, carries with it a goth-punk vibe. Fire in My Mind’s lyrics deal with self-worth, standing up to the past and trying to prove value to the world.

We Don’t Have to Dance draws on the opposite, an upbeat soon-to-be crowd favourite that’s destined to have arenas jumping, while the album’s second single The Promise builds up to an impassioned chorus, delivered with a heartfelt honesty.

Packed with pageantry and emotional melodies, the album is layered with dramatic piano ballads, tunes full of hopeful optimism and killer pop beats.

Unlike the first Andy Black record, The Ghost of Ohio appears brighter, perhaps attributed to the fact he’s now sober. He confidently reflects on his past, delving into his childhood memories and hometown histories, ultimately letting go and moving forward.

Andy Black takes his solo music on the road in July 2019. He’ll perform six dates in London, Bristol, Glasgow, Manchester, Brighton and Birmingham. [Find Tickets]

Interview: Andy Black on his new album and UK tour | Ticketmaster UK


1. Introduction: Resurrection
2. The Promise
3. Westwood Road
4. Know One
5. Soul Like Me
6. The Wind & Spark
7. Ghost of Ohio
8. Heroes We Were
9. Feast or Famine
10. Heaven
11. The Martyr
12. Fire in My Mind

Listen to The Ghost of Ohio on Spotify: